Address: 43 Duke Street, Kingston, Jamaica
Telephone: (876)-922-0425-9,1-888-991-VOTE (8683)
Fax: (876) 922-4058
Web Site:

The senate passed the Electoral Commission (Interim) Act 2006 on October 20th, 2006, clearing the way for the creation of the Electoral Commission of Jamaica (E.C.J.). Its responsibility is to protect the electoral process from the immediate direction, influence and control of the Government, which may influence its functioning to the detriment of persons with opposing views who may wish to participate in the process.

In addition to conducting general elections, by-elections or referenda, the Commission is responsible for compiling and maintaining the register of eligible electors; verifying the identity of every eligible elector; approving political parties eligible to receive state funding; and administering electoral funding and financial disclosure requirements.

The Commission comprises four selected members, four nominated members which include two persons nominated by the Prime Minister and two nominated by the Leader of the Opposition and the Director of Elections.



Errol Laurence Miller, Independent


Herbert J. Thompson, Independent

Dorothy Pine-McLarty, Independent

Justice Clarence Walker, Independent

Senator Aundre Franklin, JLP Nominated

Senator Tom Tavares-Finson, JLP Nominated

Hon. Peter Bunting, PNP Nominated

Dr. Donald Keith Duncan, PNP Nominated

Orrette Fisher, Director of Elections

Electoral Commission of Jamaica (ECJ)
Government of Jamaica