Address: 113 Washington Boulevard, Kingston 20, Jamaica, W.I.
Telephone: 876-933-5504
Fax: 876-933-0631
Web Site:

The Rural Electrification Programme (REP) was incorporated in 1975 with the specific mandate to expand the reach of electricity supply to rural areas, where the provision of such services would not be economically viable for commercial providers of electricity. The REP constructs electrical distribution pole line in electrified areas and provides house wiring assistance through a loan programme to householders.
Through a Revolving Fund, the REP also offers house wiring assistance to householders in electrified areas. The mandate of the REP was expanded in 2003 to include the Urban Electrification Regularization Programme, aimed at minimizing unauthorised connection in Urban communities
To fulfill our mandate of providing 100% rural electrification for Jamaicans, regularizations of urban electrification and diversification of our Engineering Services.
To contribute to the nation's economic growth and development by providing affordable access to electricity and by regularizing urban electrification.
Corporate Goals
The goals of the Rural Electrification Programme are:
  • Securing sustained funding for our projects and activities.
  • Providing our customers with excellent and efficient service;
  • Utilizing the best available technology;
  • Developing our staff through training and offering opportunities for participation in a wide range of our activities and projects.
  • Forging alliances and partnerships with competent organization and/or individuals to provide the resources to effectively execute our projects and programmes in a cost effective manner.
  • Diversifying the scope of our engineering services.
  • Striving to achieve teamwork and continuous improvement in all our activities.

Keith Garvey - General Manager

Samuel Marshall - Chief Engineer

Colton Smith - Financial Controller


Reverend Garnet Roper


Mr. Donovan Mitchell

Ms. Geraldine Wright

Mr. Claude Stewart

Dr. Stacey-Ann Wilson

Ms. Marsha Smikle

Ms. Camille Michaels

Mr. Derrick Dunn

Mr. Michael Parker

Mr. Wesley Saulter

Mr. Richard Rowe

Mr. Cordinal Beckford

Mr. Rohan Kiffin

Ms. Judith Marriott

*board appointed for one (1) year effective February 13, 2012*

Rural Electrification Programme Ltd.
Government of Jamaica