Address: 13 - 19 Harbour Street, Kingston, Jamaica, W.I.
Telephone: 876-967-7948;1 (876) 948-7800 1; (876) 948-5115
Fax: 876-922-4093
Web Site:

The Spectrum Management Authority (“SMA” or “the Authority) is a limited liability company wholly owned by the Government of Jamaica and is an agency within the Information and Telecommunications Department of the Office of the Prime Minister. It was established in 2000 pursuant to the Telecommunications Act, 2000 and became operational in April 2001.
The SMA is the national regulator for the radio frequency spectrum and, as such, is an advisory body to the Minister with principal responsibility for telecommunications who has the responsibility for the regulation of the spectrum under the Telecommunications Act, 2000 .
The Authority is governed by a Board of Directors appointed by the Minister. The daily operations of the SMA are overseen by its Managing Director.
The SMA works closely with other related regulatory agencies, including the Office of Utilities Regulation (OUR), the Broadcasting Commission, the Fair Trading Commission, and the National Environment & Planning Agency, in formulating policy and legislation in relation to the communications industry.
The Authority’s main functions are:
  • To license and/or authorise users of the spectrum
  • To collect the relevant fees associated with the use of the spectrum
  • To preserve the spectrum rights of all legitimate users of the spectrum
  • To ensure the maintenance of frequency bands that are free from interference and unauthorised use.
The Spectrum Management Authority was established pursuant to Section 21 of the Telecommunications Act, 2000. According to the Act, the function of the Authority shall be to advise the Minister on any matter referred to it by the Minister and to perform any function delegated to it by the Minister.
In keeping with the recommendations of the International Telecommunications Union (ITU), the Authority was established as an independent regulatory body responsible for managing the radio frequency spectrum. This was against the background of Jamaica’s international commitments to the World Trade Organization’s (WTO) telecommunications agreement, and the policy objectives enunciated by the Government of Jamaica (GoJ) with respect to the telecommunications sector.

Henry Batson - Director, Spectrum Engineering

Ida-Gaye Warburton - Director, Legal Affairs

Patrick Brown - Director, Finance & Administration

George Malcolm - Manager, Policy & Strategic Planning

Dawn Staple - Human Resources Officer


Mr. Trevor Forrest

Ms. Yolande Ramharrack

Mr. David McBean

Ms. Marsha Houghton

Mrs. Marcia Forbes

Mr. Rickman Warren

Mr. Craig Ottey Brown

Mr. Marlon Morgan

Ms. Sophia Deer

Mr. Robert Richards

Ms. Kadian Smith-Newton

Mr. Brian Yap-Sam

Mr. Delroy Thompson

*board appointed for two (2) years effective April 11, 2016*

The Authority is self-funded through a cost-recovery mechanism which requires that spectrum licensees pay spectrum licence fees and regulatory fees for use of the radio frequency spectrum.
Spectrum licence fees are collected on behalf of the GOJ; these fees are paid into the Consolidated Fund.
Regarding regulatory fees, a mechanism was developed in consultation with spectrum users and was formalised by the Telecommunications (Spectrum Regulatory Fees) Regulations, 2003.
Spectrum Management Authority
Government of Jamaica