Google+

CALENDAR OF SCHOOL TERMS AND HOLIDAYS FOR THE ACADEMIC YEAR 2015/2016

Source: Ministry of Education, Jamaica

In accordance with the provisions of Regulations 7 of the Education Regulations 1980, the Honourable Minister of Education has specified the following school terms and periods within which school holidays may be allowed in the school year 2015/2016:

1.  The first/CHRISTMAS TERM of the school year will commence on Monday, September 7, 2015 and end on Friday December 18, 2015. Christmas Holidays will be Monday, December 21, 2015 to Friday, January 1, 2016.

2.  The second/EASTER TERM of the school year will commence on Monday, January 4, 2016 and end on Friday, March 18, 2016. Easter Holidays will be Monday, March 21, 2016 to Friday April 1, 2016.

3.  The third/SUMMER TERM of the school year will commence on Monday, April 4, 2016 and end on Friday, July 8, 2016. Summer Holidays will be Monday, July 11, 2016 to Wednesday, August 31, 2016

 

The following dates are suggested for mid-term holidays:

CHRISTMAS TERM            Friday, October 16, 2015 

EASTER TERM                   Thursday, February 11, 2016              

SUMMER TERM                 Thursday, May 19, 2016     

 

Ministry of Education Professional Development Dates

CHRISTMAS TERM           Thursday, October 15, 2015

EASTER TERM                  Friday February 12, 2016

SUMMER TERM                Friday, May 20, 2016

SUMMER PERIOD             July 6-18 and August 10-21, 2015

 

Public Holiday Schedule

Public Holiday  

 Date 

National Heroes Day  

Monday, October 19, 2015

Christmas Day

Friday, December 25, 2015

Boxing Day

Saturday, December 26, 2015

New Year's Day

Friday, January 1, 2016

Ash Wednesday

Wednesday, February 10, 2016

Good Friday  

Friday, March 25, 2016

Easter Monday

Monday, March 28, 2016

Labour Day

Monday, May 23, 2016

Emancipation Day

Monday, August 1, 2016

Independence Day

Saturday, August 6, 2016

Examination Dates

Grade One Individual Learning Profile (GOILP)

August 25, 2015 – September 11, 2015

Grade Six Achievement Test (GSAT)

March 17  18, 2016

Grade Nine Achievement Test (GNAT)

May 13, 2016

ASTEP Test

May 13, 2016

Grade Four Literacy and Numeracy Tests

June 28  29, 2016

Vocational School Leaving Certificates Examinations (VSLCE)

June 13  24, 2016

Grade Three Diagnostic Test

June 7  8, 2016

Jamaica School Certificate 

July 4 – 7, 2016

CSEC (January)

Registration:
August 15, 2015 – September 25, 2015

Registration deadline: August 15, 2015 – September 25, 2015

Examination dates: January 4 –January 19, 2016

CSEC (June)

Registration deadline: September 25 – November 25, 2015

Examination dates: April 15 –June 10, 2016

CAPE

Registration deadlineSeptember 25 – November 25, 2015

Examination dates: April 15 – June 10, 2016

CCSLC

Registration: September 25 – January 25, 2016

Examination dates: June 13 – June 15, 2016

CVQ

Registration deadline: September 1 - December 31, 2016

Examination dates: May 1 – June 15, 2016

Online Registration System opens for submission of completed units 

June 15 –June 25, 2016

Schools should submit the following documents to the Overseas Examinations Commissions:

 External Verifiers Report

 Internal Assessors’ Report

 Achievement Sheets

 Candidates’ Portfolio Completion Form

NVQJ

Registration deadline: November 30, 2015

Examination dates: June 13 - July 8, 2016

City and Guilds (December)

Registration deadline: October 26, 2015 

Examination date: December 10, 2015 

City and Guilds (June)

Registration deadline: December 14, 2015

Examination date: June 16, 2016

Please note that dates are subject to change due to any extenuating circumstances.

Attention is drawn to Regulation 7 (3) of the Education Regulations 1980, which makes it obligatory for every Educational Institution to meet for not less than one hundred and ninety (190) days in every school year. Chairmen of School Boards are asked to inform the Ministry of any variation of dates on which their schools will close for each term.