Google+
 

CALENDAR OF SCHOOL TERMS AND HOLIDAYS FOR THE ACADEMIC YEAR 2014/2015

Source: Ministry of Education, Jamaica

In accordance with the provisions of Regulations 7 of the Education Regulations 1980, the Honourable Minister of Education has specified the following school terms and periods within which school holidays may be allowed in the school year 2014/2015:

 

1.  The first/CHRISTMAS TERM of the school year will commence on Monday, SEPTEMBER 1, 2014 and end on DECEMBER 18, 2014. Christmas Holidays will be December 18, 2014 to January 2, 2015.

 

2.  The second/EASTER TERM of the school year will commence on Monday, JANUARY 5, 2015 and end on Wednesday APRIL 1, 2015. Easter Holidays will be Thursday April 2, 2015 to Friday April 10, 2015. 

 

3.  The third/SUMMER TERM of the school year will commence on Monday, APRIL 13, 2015 and end on JULY 3, 2015. Summer Holidays will be July 6, 2015 to September 4, 2015.

 

The following dates are suggested for mid-term holidays:

CHRISTMAS TERM            Friday, October 17, 2014  

EASTER TERM                   Thursday, February 19, 2015             

SUMMER TERM                Friday, May 22, 2015     

 

Ministry of Education Professional Development Dates

CHRISTMAS TERM           Thursday, October 16, 2014

EASTER TERM                  Friday, February 20, 2015

SUMMER TERM                Thursday, May 21, 2015

SUMMER PERIOD             July 6-18 and August 10-21, 2015

 

Public Holiday Schedule

Public Holiday  

 Date 

National Heroes Day  

Monday, October 20, 2014

Christmas Day

Thursday, December 25, 2014  

Boxing Day

Friday , December 26, 2014

New Year's Day

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Ash Wednesday

Wednesday, February 18, 2015

Good Friday  

Friday, April 3, 2015

Easter Monday

Monday, April 6, 2015

Labour Day

Saturday, May 23/25, 2015

Emancipation Day

Saturday, August 1, 2015

Independence Day

Thursday, August 6, 2015

 

Examination Dates

Grade One Individual Learning Profile (GOILP)

Monday, August 25 - Friday, September 12, 2014

Grade Six Achievement Test (GSAT)

Thursday, March 19 - Friday, March 20, 2015

Grade Nine Achievement Test (GNAT)

Friday, May 8, 2015

ASTEP Test

Friday, May 8,  2015

ASTEP Psycho-Educational Assessment

May and June 2015

Grade Four Literacy and Numeracy Tests

Thursday, June 4 - Friday, June 5,  2015

Vocational Examinations

Monday, June 15 -  Friday, June 26, 2015

Grade Three Diagnostic Test

Tuesday, June 9 - Wednesday, June 10, 2015

Jamaica School Certificate or Alternate Assessment

Monday, July 6 - Friday, July 10,  2015

CSEC  

January  05 - 20, 2015 and May 04 - June 12, 2015     

CAPE

May 04 - June 12, 2015

CCSLC

June 15 -17, 2015

NVQJ

February 16 - 27, 2015, May 18 - 29, 2015 September 21 - 30, 2015, December 14 - 23, 2015

CVQ

May and June, 2015

City and Guilds

Thursday, December 11, 2014; Thursday,  June 18, 2015 and June 1-12, 2015     

 

Please note that dates are subject to change due to any extenuating circumstancesAttention is drawn to Regulation 7 (3) of the Education Regulations 1980, which makes it obligatory for every Educational Institution to meet for not less than one hundred and ninety (190) days in every school year. Chairmen of School Boards are asked to inform the Ministry of any variation of dates on which their schools will close for each term.